Community Development Block Grant Commission


  • Meets as needed
  • City Council Conference Room
    300 N. Main Street
    Hopewell, VA 23860


  • Tevya Griffin – Staff Member
  • Councilor Deborah Randolph
    Term expires December 31, 2023
  • Councilor Arlene Holloway
    Term expires December 31, 2022
  • Councilor Brenda Pelham
    Term expires December 31, 2022
  • Councilor Patience Bennett
    Term expires December 31, 2023

Number of Members: Four Councilors
Term of Service: Shall be the same as the term of office for each councilor in Wards, 1, 2, 6 and 7.
The Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Program was created by the Housing and Community Development Act of 1974. The program has funded a wide variety of housing and community development activities throughout the United States. These include land acquisition for new affordable housing projects, rehabilitation of existing housing, construction or renovation of community centers, infrastructure improvements, fair housing services and support for homeless systems of care. Under the State CDBG Program, states award grants to smaller units of general local government that develop and preserve decent affordable housing, to provide services to the most vulnerable in our communities, and to create and retain jobs. Annually, each State develops funding priorities and criteria for selecting projects.

Translate »