Constitutional Officers

These positions are created by the Constitution of Virginia and the duties for each office are prescribed in The Code of Virginia. They perform governmental duties at the local level and the local governing body must fund a portion of each budget. Each is an elected position and not appointed by the City Manager or Council, with all but the clerk having a four year term of office. The clerk has an eight year term.


Stephen M. Kephart, Jr.

Stephen M. Kephart, Jr.

Joan E. Gosier

Joan E. Gosier
City Treasurer

Debra Reason

Debra Kloske Reason
Master Commissioner of Revenue

Richard K. Newman

Richard K. Newman
Commonwealth Attorney

City logo
Tamara Ward

Tamara J. Ward
Clerk of the Circuit Court

Comments are closed.

Translate »

ALERT: **The City of Hopewell’s largest holiday celebration, Light Up the Night, will take place on Sunday, December 5, 2021 in Downtown Hopewell. Read more **