Downtown Design Review Committee


  • Meets the first Wednesday of each month – 3:30PM
  • Municipal Building
    City Council Conference Room
    300 N. Main St.
    Hopewell, VA 23860


  • Christopher Ward – Staff Member


  • Rita Joyner – Chairman
    Term expires August 01, 2021
  • Mary French Elder – Vice Chairman
    Term expires October 31, 2024
  • Irma Gail Mahaney – Member
    Term expires December 31, 2021
  • Terry Ammons – Member
    Term expires October 31, 2024
  • Daniel B. Jones – Member
    Term expires October 31, 2022

Number of Members: Not more than five or less than three members
Term of Service: Four-year terms

Pursuant to Council minutes 12-08-09, a review committee is hereby established and shall be known as the Downtown Design Review Committee. The membership of the committee shall be appointed by City Council to serve staggered terms. At least one (1) member shall be a downtown property owner, another member shall be a downtown business owner, and the remaining member or members shall have knowledge of, and demonstrated interest in, the historic character of the City, and knowledge or expertise deemed useful to the work of the Review Committee. These members may include, but not limited to, a licensed contractor, a real estate broker, or architect. City Council, at its own discretion, may appoint members that do not reside in the City of Hopewell if they deem it appropriate. The members shall serve a term of four (4) years. The City Planner shall serve as an advisory member of the Review Committee and shall have no vote. No member of the Review Committee shall serve more than two consecutive four (4) year terms. A member may be re-appointed to additional terms after being out of office for at least one four (4) year term. The City Planner shall staff the Review Committee and serve as an advisory member, but shall not be a voting member.

Translate »