The City of Hopewell is divided into seven wards, each having a representative on City Council. Each City Councilor serves a four-year term. Elections are held for each ward every four years. Councilors’ are elected in November are their terms run from January 1 to December 31 four years later.

On the first Tuesday in January following an election, City Council holds a reorganization meeting where it votes and appoints a new Mayor and Vice Mayor. Each official serves a two-year term until the next Council election, when another reorganization meeting is held.