Hopewell Water Renewal Commission


  • Meets quarterly, the third Monday at 1:30 PM
  • Facility Conference Room
    231 Hummel Ross Road
    Hopewell, VA 23860


  • Jerry Byerly, Director of Hopewell Water Renewal – Staff Member


  • John B. Partin, Jr., Councilor
    Term expires October 31, 2023
  • John Altman, City Manager – Member
    Term expires October 31, 2023
  • Sandra Robinson, City Attorney – Member
    Term expires October 31, 2023
  • David L. Clifton – Member
    Term expires October 31, 2020
  • Brian Johnson– Member
    Term expires October 31, 2019
  • James Osbourne – Member
    Term expires October 31, 2020
  • Andy Girvin – Member
    Term expires – October 31, 2024

Number of Members: Seven members
Term of Service: The junior will serve two (2) years and the senior one (1) year. Appointments shall be made for terms of four (4) years.

Per amendment to Hopewell City Charter, § 1 and § 3 of Chapter XXV (A.1.) of Chapter 431 of the Acts of Assembly of 1950, there shall be a regional wastewater treatment facility commission which shall be known as the Hopewell Water Renewal Commission (hereinafter in this chapter referred to as the “Commission”), which shall act on behalf of the city of Hopewell as hereinafter provided, with respect to a regional wastewater treatment facility owned by the City of Hopewell to provide treatment for disposal of sanitary and industrial waste from the City of Hopewell and vicinity. The commission shall consist of up to nine members who need not be residents of the city and who shall be appointed by a majority of city council. Up to six members shall be from nominees submitted by manufacturers (each nominating with respect to one membership) which provide assistance in the planning and financing for the regional wastewater treatment facility or which are or will be users of said facility. Each new nominating manufacturer, meaning manufacturers or their predecessors having not previously submitted nominations to the Commission, shall provide a capital contribution in an amount determined by the city council upon recommendation by the Commission. Three additional members shall be a member of city council, the city manager, and the city attorney.

Translate »

Hopewell DMV Select will be closed for the remainder of the day due to inclement weather. The office will re-open tomorrow (Friday, May 29) at 9AM, weather permitting. We regret any inconvenience.

Click for details