Planning Commission/Wetlands Board


  • Meets the first Thursday of each month at 6PM
  • City Hall
    300 North Main Street Hopewell, VA 23860



  • Christopher Ward, City Planner – Staff Member
  • Todd Butterworth – Member
    Term expires October 31, 2024
  • Elliott T. Eliades – Member
    Term expires October 31, 2024
  • Fara Jenkins – Member
    Term expires October 31, 2023
  • Christopher R. Neal – Member
    Term expires December 1, 2020
  • Cassandra Vanderkeift – Member
    Term expires October 31, 2022

Number of Members: Five- Members
Term of Service: Four-year terms

To promote the orderly development of the locality and its environs. In accomplishing the objectives of § 15.2-2200 the local planning commissions shall serve primarily in an advisory capacity to the governing bodies. The qualifications of the five (5) appointed members shall be that each is a resident of the City, has an active role in Hopewell, and is qualified by knowledge and experience to make decisions on questions of community growth and development. The members shall be appointed on a split of two (2) members at one time and three (3) members at another time, with the time coinciding with the election of the new City Council. The appointments shall begin on November 1. Any vacancy in membership shall be filled by appointment of the City Council and shall be for the unexpired term only. Any member may be removed by the City Council for, neglect of duty or malfeasance in office. Duties of the Commission include making and adopting a Comprehensive Plan for orderly development of land use, community facilities and transportation within the City; to make recommendations to the City Council for the preservation of historical markers; prepare, revise and submit a program of capital improvement projects and proposed funding for the ensuing five (5) years; submit to City Council a comprehensive zoning plan and changes to the plan as conditions may warrant and to act as the subdivision platting agent for the City.

Translate »

ALERTS: ** CITY OFFICES CLOSED Monday, May 30 for Memorial Day ** ** FREE COVID-19 testing scheduled for June 1. **